Rich, John, and a Tale of Two Acronyms

Life is all about the people we meet. During my first few weeks on active duty, I was told that I would be the new ADR OIC. I knew what OIC stood for (Officer-in-Charge), but had no idea what ADR was. (Airfield Damage Repair.) My buddy gave me some places to look for information and the names of two gentlemen who were ADR subject matter experts. After reading up on the basics of the process, I called one of the guys, Rich, and he told me to come on over and we would discuss it. Over the ensuing two hours, they proceeded to explain the entire process to me and answer all my questions, no matter how basic or outlandish. I walked out of the office feeling confident and excited about my new position.

Over the next year and a half in that position, I had the honor and opportunity to work with Navy Seabees, Marine combat engineers, and Japanese Air Self-Defense Force engineers. I am grateful for the foundation that was built during those first two hours with Rich and John. I made mistakes during the training scenarios but I have no doubt that many errors were avoided as a result of our conversation and their investment in me.

I shared this story at my going away celebration and I share it now because the experience left a lasting impact on me and reinforced some valuable lessons: one, I do not know everything. Two, I need to do my own research and put effort in to see if I can figure things out.  Three, if I am willing to admit that I do not know everything and ask questions, people will go above and beyond to help me. This is the approach that I take to learning and life. And this was the perfect lesson to begin my military career and set the foundation of my professional leadership and learning style. Time and time again over the last three years, this same process has played out with other teammates and they have stepped up to help me problem solve and produce the best product. It is amazing that people have been so willing to take time out of their days to invest in me, mentor me, and grow me as a young leader.

My goal is to pay it forward to others in a similar fashion.

Rich and John, thank you for taking time out to invest in me. And thank you for your service. I truly appreciate it.

-David A. Brown-Dawson, 7 August 2017

Leave a Reply

