Potential Choices

“Our potential is one thing. What we choose to do with it is quite another.” – Angela Duckworth, author of Grit 

This week I had the honor of presenting scholarships on behalf of the Society of American Military Engineers to two members of the graduating class of 2017. I have been very encouraged over the past couple weeks as I have talked to middle school and high school students and learned what they are passionate about and what they want to do after high school.

As I was sitting in the audience listening to the other scholarships be given out (many of them to these same two individuals), a quote popped into my head from Angela Duckworth’s book Grit. “Potential is one thing. What we choose to do with it is quite another.” In the opening pages, she offers the above quote as the “fundamental insight that would guide [her] future work…” I offered it to the graduating class, myself, and anybody listening as a call to action.

I remember eight years ago being in their shoes and having people tell me that I had potential. And that potential would have gone to waste if I had not been willing to put in the work necessary to realize a portion of that potential at the end of college: graduating with an engineering degree and commissioning into the Air Force.

This quote has been burning a fire in me since the first day I read it. Because at any given moment in life, I have an unknown amount of potential. If I choose not to improve each day, I am choosing not to live my life to its fullest potential. And that is when I am reminded of the quote from Pastor Steven Furtick: “The pain of falling short is nothing compared to the shame of stopping short… Most of us have far more in us than we are currently using.”

One of my biggest motivators is the thought of reaching the end of my life and having God show me what I could have done – the people I could have helped – if I had lived in my purpose and to my fullest potential. And that drives me. So to anybody out there that comes across this writing, regardless of your age, I leave you with this: Potential is one thing. What you choose to do with it is quite another. You can wake up every morning determined to make improvements in the pursuit of your potential, or you can let that potential and all the good that could have come from it dry up, like a raisin in the sun. Make it a great life, or not. The choice is yours.

– David A. Brown-Dawson, 2 June 2017

Leave a Reply

