“Fill Me Up”… Go All In

Over the past couple weeks one song has been playing repeatedly in my head. “Fill Me Up” by Tasha Cobb (that may not be the original, but it is the first version I heard). That said, this weekend the song hit me in a major way.

“If you provide the fire, I’ll provide the sacrifice.” This line has been on my heart and mind all weekend. To me, it is a commitment from the writer that if God provides the opportunity, they will do whatever it takes to maximize the opportunity. This was a conviction for me- God is providing many opportunities, but am I taking advantage of them? Am I sacrificing my time, energy, comfort for my purpose? The obvious answer for me was no. The better response is “why not?”

Complacency, laziness, loss of perspective (focusing on short-term rather than long-term). These were some of my immediate answers.

I’ve been working, but I haven’t taken it to the next level. I haven’t been sacrificing. That changes now.

Whether you have a relationship with God or not, this song is about knowing what your purpose is and then working harder than you have ever worked before in line with that purpose. It’s about bringing everything you have to the table. And working. And working. Not stopping when you are tired, not stopping when you want to go out. It takes me back to when I was in college and listening to Dr. Eric Thomas. He said, “If you don’t have a 4.0, what you need to be doing is studying.” I took that message to heart and was completely dialed in that semester; I don’t think it was a coincidence that that was the one semester I achieved a 4.0.

My challenge to whoever is reading is this: take some time to determine what your purpose is. Decide what you are passionate about. Then go all in. Use every tool in your toolbox and get to work.

Leave a Reply

